The International Jazz Day Global Concert 2019

The International Jazz Day 2019 All-Star Global Concert will take place in Melbourne, Australia

The All-Star Global Concert brings together a stellar lineup of international artists representing jazz and many other genres of music for a performance that spans styles, cultures and languages. In the spirit of International Jazz Day, each year’s All-Star Global Concert takes place in a landmark venue with rich historical significance both to the Global Host City and the hosting nation.

The 2019 All-Star Global Concert will take place in Melbourne, Australia’s Hamer Hall at the renowned Arts Centre Melbourne. The concert will be webcast for free on jazzday.com, unesco.org, YouTube and Facebook at 15:00 UTC on Tuesday, April 30 (11:00 New York | 16:00 London | 17:00 Paris | 00:00 Tokyo (May 1) | 01:00 Melbourne (May 1)).

As the centerpiece of International Jazz Day’s global programming, the All-Star Global Concert will inspire audiences worldwide with never-before-seen musical collaborations. Tributes will encompass nearly every era of recorded jazz and highlight the diverse influences that draw listeners of all backgrounds to this special music.

Iconic jazz pianist Herbie Hancock (USA) and acclaimed trumpeter James Morrison (Australia) will serve as artistic co-directors of the All-Star Global Concert in Melbourne, and John Beasley (USA) will serve as the evening’s musical director. The concert will feature performances by an international roster of artists from more than a dozen countries. Confirmed artists include: Cieavash Arian (Iran), William Barton (Australia), Brian Blade (USA), A Bu (China), Igor Butman (Russian Federation), Theo Croker (USA), Joey DeFrancesco (USA), Eli Degibri (Israel), Kurt Elling (USA), James Genus (USA), Paul Grabowsky (Australia), Antonio Hart (USA), Matthew Jodrell (Australia), Aditya Kalyanpur (India), Ledisi (USA), Jane Monheit (USA), James Muller (Australia), Eijiro Nakagawa (Japan), Mark Nightingale (United Kingdom), Jeff Parker (USA), Chico Pinheiro (Brazil), Tineke Postma (Netherlands), Eric Reed (USA), Antonio Sánchez (Mexico), Somi (USA), Ben Williams (USA), Lizz Wright (USA) and Tarek Yamani (Lebanon), with more artists expected to be announced.

Read the full announcement.

Read about previous All-Star Global Concerts: 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013

Look Who Will Be In Melbourne, Australia

A Bu
Cieavash Arian
William Barton
John Beasley (Musical Director)
Brian Blade
Igor Butman
Theo Croker
Joey DeFrancesco
Eli Degibri
Kurt Elling
James Genus
Herbie Hancock
Antonio Hart
Matthew Jodrell
Aditya Kalyanpur
Ledisi
Jane Monheit
James Morrison
James Muller
Eijiro Nakagawa
Mark Nightingale
Chico Pinheiro
Tineke Postma
Eric Reed
Antonio Sánchez
Somi
Ben Williams
Tarek Yamani